Walking in the tracks of Jacob Böhme in Görlitz

Görlitz & Jacob Böhme

„At the age of 25, once again seized by the Divine Light“, thus said the poet, friend and first biographer of Jacob Böhme about the great vision which the mystic perceived in Görlitz and which was meant to determine his whole life.

 

Thirty years of Jacob Böhme’s life are closely connected with the city of Görlitz, covering the beginnings of his work as a shoemaker as well as the longstanding period of his creative activity until his burial. Visiting Görlitz is to enjoy an exciting journey through history and to discover numerous traces of Jacob Böhme’s life: places of his life, of his inspiration, and of the dispute between him and the church authorities who considered his enthusiastic belief a provocation. Those, who appreciate Böhme‘s work, will simply love to be so close to the personal history and the soul of the great mystic while visiting these places in the city on the Neisse River.

Current exhibition at the Green Vault
(Grünes Gewölbe) in Dresden
read more

Traces in Görlitz

Places of his Life

 

 

Three places of manual and spiritual Creation

Böhme’s first house in the suburbs on the Neisse River (Neißevorstadt): On April 24, 1599, the shoemaker Böhme, being a master of his craft, registered himself as a citizen of Görlitz, and thus, committed himself to get married and to buy a house within half a year. After his marriage on May 10, he purchased a dwelling house on August 21, which was located in former Ravens Lane (Rabengasse) at the eastern banks of the river, today Zgorzelec, Poland. The house had been severely damaged and was rebuilt in 1870/1871. It accommodates a Jacob Böhme exhibition today.

His second residence: This house purchased by Jacob Böhme on June 22, 1610, fell victim to the construction of the Old Town Bridge in 1905. A memorial plaque recalls that Jacob Böhme lived here and wrote several of his works in this house, among them was “Aurora”, his first work. From this place, according to his last words, he entered “into paradise” on November 17, 1624.

Lower Market (Untermarkt) cobbler bench: On April 24, 1599, Jacob Böhme acquired the burgher rights of Görlitz and spent altogether the respectable amount of 600 Görlitz Marks on the burgher rights, a cobbler bench and a dwelling house including furnishing. For thirteen years, he sold shoes here, manufactured by his own hands.

 

 

Controversial Places

Competition Law and the Struggle for Freedom of Expression

Historical flights of stairs at the City Hall: Jacob Böhme was summoned several times, so he had to enter the Town Hall, walking up the famous Renaissance stairways, passing the column of Lady Justice. Until 1623, those hearings were related to his work and to the numerous disputes with the tanners. Later, it was his manuscripts that started to attract the attention of Justice and Church.

Courtyard of the Town Hall/Court Oriel: On July 26, 1613, Jacob Böhme appeared in front of the incumbent Mayor Scultetus, after the high priest Gregor Richter had reported him to the authorities because of his manuscript “Die Morgenröte im Aufgang“ or “Aurora” (The rising of Dawn” or “Aurora”). On March 26, 1624, after having published several of his works, he had to defend himself against the accusation of having infringed an earlier prohibition to write. Both times, Jacob Böhme benefitted from a certain leniency of the public authorities and of councillor Scultetus; being himself a humanist and a follower of Paracelsus, the latter did not want to support the strict line of the clergy.

Places of Contemplation

Between Heaven and Earth, Belief and Science

Main Parish Church of St. Peter and Paul: This gothic church, colloquially called Peter’s Church, used to be both the place of important events in Jacob Böhme’s life as well as his life-long spiritual and religious centre. It was here, that he married Katharina Kuntzschmann, daughter of butcher, on May 10, 1599, and it was here, that his four sons were baptised. But it was also in St. Peter’s Church, that the dispute with the clergy became obvious. The trigger was a sermon by the Lutheran priest Gregor Richter bashing the theosophist’s manuscripts and initiating the long-term conflict between Böhme and the Church as an institution. Even though there is only the wrought-iron baptismal lattice in the northwestern corner of the church, cast in 1617 and renewed in 1696, which dates back to that time, but Saxony’s biggest and oldest church of this type is definately worth a visit.

Number 4 Peter’s Street (Peterstraße 4): Bartholomäus Scultetus, who used to live in number 4 Peter’s Street, played an important role in Jacob Böhme’s life. In his position as a Mayor, he dealt with the conflict between Böhme and the church with a degree of leniency. As a revolutionary astronomer, he influenced the spiritual-creative process of Jacob Böhme and can be regarded as one of his supporters. Today, his dwelling house presents one of the city’s most beautiful accessible inner courtyards.

Places of Memory

On foot or at the desk, Görlitz takes you to back to the times of Jacob Böhme

Upperlusatian Library of Sciences: Together with the International Jacob Böhme Association residing in the same place, the library is considered to be a unique centre of research. Researchers have a comprehensive collection of Böhme literature at their disposal, including numerous hand-written documents and early prints. To catch just a glance into the reading room is a highlight for every visitor!
// Jacob Böhme in the Upperlusation Library

Jacob Böhme’s tomb in St. Nicholas‘ Cemetery (Nikolaifriedhof): The conflict between Böhme and the Church continued beyond his death. At first, the funeral was rejected, then, the buriel cross donated by Böhme’s friends was destroyed. A dignified commemoration came about only at the beginning of the 19th century after the Upperlusatian Library, and later American Böhme followers, had donated three tomb slabs.
// St. Nicholas‘ Cemetery

VINO E CULTURA: The restaurant is located in one of the most beautiful and most important hall houses in the historic Old Town of Görlitz and presents hand-written documents by Böhme in one of its rooms.
// Collection Jacob Böhme

Jacob Böhme Monument: How did he look like in reality? “His outward physical appearance was withering and ill-looking, he was of small stature, had a low forehead, high temples, a bent nose, grey and almost sky-blue, sparkly eyes... he had a fine, short beard...“, says the only available description given by Böhme’s former biographer. The monument in the Park of Peace is just one of the numerous interpretations!

 

Walking in the tracks of Jacob Böhme in Görlitz

// Download flyer

In Görlitz auf den Spuren von

Görlitz & Jacob Böhme

„Im 25. Jahr seines Alters, zum andern Mal vom göttlichen Lichte ergriffen“, so der Poet, Freund und erste Biograph von Jacob Böhme über die große Vision, die der Mystiker in Görlitz empfing, und sein ganzes Leben bestimmen sollte.

 

Mit der Stadt Görlitz verbinden Jacob Böhme dreißig Jahre seines Lebens, die seine beruflichen Anfänge als Schuhmacher sowie die langjährige Phase seines schöpferischen Tuns bis hin zu seinem Begräbnis umfassen. Wer Görlitz besichtigt, gönnt sich eine spannende Reise durch die Geschichte und wird dabei zahlreiche Lebensspuren von Jacob Böhme entdecken können: Orte seines Lebens, seiner Inspiration und auch des Streits mit der kirchlichen Ordnung, die seinen enthusiastischen Glauben als Provokation betrachtete. Wer das Werk Böhmes schätzt, wird es lieben, an vielen Plätzen der Neißestadt die Geschichte und Seele des großartigen Mystikers hautnah zu spüren.

Aktuelle Ausstellung
im Grünen Gewölbe
mehr lesen

Spuren in Görlitz

Lebensorte

 

 

Drei Orte der handwerklichen und geistigen Schöpfung.

Wohnhaus Neißevorstadt: Am 24. April 1599 hatte sich der Meister als Bürger von Görlitz eintragen lassen und war damit die Verpflichtung eingegangen, binnen eines Halbjahres zu heiraten und ein Haus zu erwerben. Nach der Hochzeit am 10. Mai folgte am 21. August der Erwerb des Hauses auf der damaligen Rabengasse, heute auf der Zgorzelecer Uferseite gelegen. Nach erheblichen Beschädigungen wurde das Haus 1870-1871 umgebaut und beherbergt heute eine Ausstellung über Jacob Böhme.

Zweites Wohnhaus:
Am 22. Juni 1610 durch Jacob Böhme erworben, fiel das Haus dem Bau der Altstadtbrücke im Jahr 1905 zu Opfer. Eine Gedenktafel erinnert daran, dass Jacob Böhme hier lebte und u.a. sein erstes Werk „Aurora“ schrieb. Von dort aus ging er am 17. November 1624 nach seinen letzten Worten „ins Paradies“.

Untermarkt Schusterbank:
Am 24. April 1599 erwarb Jacob Böhme die Bürgerrechte von Görlitz und kaufte für die stolze Summe von 600 Görlitzer Mark Bürgerrecht, Schuhbank, Wohnhaus und Einrichtung. Dreizehn Jahre lang verkaufte er hier seine eigenhändig produzierten Schuhe.

 

 

Kontroverse Orte

Wettbewerbsrecht und der Kampf um die Meinungsfreiheit.

Historische Rathaustreppe: Über die berühmte Renaissance-Treppe, vorbei an der Justitiasäule, lief Jacob Böhme mehrmals ins Rathaus zur Anhörung. Bis 1613 betrafen die Vorladungen seine handwerkliche Tätigkeit und den häufigen Streit mit den Gerbern. Später gerieten seine Manuskripte ins Visier der Justiz und der Kirche.

Rathaushof/Gerichtserker: Am 26. Juli 1613 trat Jacob Böhme vor den amtierenden Bürgermeister Scultetus, nachdem ihn der Oberpfarrer Gregor Richter wegen seiner Manuskripte „Morgenröte im Aufgang“ und „Aurora“ angezeigt hatte. Am 26. März 1624 musste sich Böhme nach mehreren Veröffentlichungen gegen den Vorwurf wehren, er hätte gegen ein früher auferlegtes Schreibverbot verstoßen. In beiden Fällen profitierte Jacob Böhme von einer gewissen Milde des Görlitzer Magistrats und des Ratsherren Scultetus, der als Humanist und Paracelsus-Anhänger der strengen Linie des Klerus nicht folgen wollte.

Orte der Gedankenwelt

Zwischen Himmel und Erde, Glaube und Wissenschaft.

Hauptpfarrkirche St. Peter und Paul: Die gotische Peterskirche, wie sie in Görlitz umgangssprachlich genannt wird, war sowohl der Ort wichtiger Ereignisse aus dem Leben von Jacob Böhme als auch sein lebenslanges geistlich-religiöses Zentrum. Dort heiratete er am 10. Mai 1599 Katharina Kuntzschmann, die Tochter eines Fleischermeisters. Dort wurden seine vier Söhne getauft. In der Peterskirche kam aber auch der Konflikt mit dem Klerus zum Ausdruck. Auslöser war die Predigt des lutheranischen Pfarrers Gregor Richter, der die Manuskripte des Theosophen scharf kritisierte und den vieljährigen Konflikt zwischen Böhme und der Kirche als Institution einleitete. Zwar stammt aus der Zeit nur noch das 1617 geschmiedete und 1696 erneuerte Taufgitter in der Nordwestecke, dennoch lohnt sich ein Besuch des Gotteshauses als der größten und ältesten Kirche dieses Typs in Sachsen allemal.

Peterstraße 4: Bartholomäus Scultetus, wohnhaft in der Peterstr. 4, spielte eine wichtige Rolle im Leben von Jacob Böhme. Als Bürgermeister ließ er beim Konflikt mit der Kirche mehrmals Milde walten. Als bahnbrechender Astronom beeinflusste er den geistig-schöpferischen Prozess von Jacob Böhme und dürfte zum Kreis seiner Unterstützer gehört haben. Heute bietet das Haus einen der schönsten frei zugänglichen Innenhöfe der Stadt.

Orte Der Erinnerung

Zu Fuss oder am Schreibtisch, Görlitz entführt Sie in die Zeit Böhmes.

Oberlausitzische Bibliothek der Wissenschaften: Zusammen mit der dort ansässigen Internationalen Jacob-Böhme-Gesellschaft gilt die Bibliothek als ein einzigartiges Forschungszentrum. Den Forschern steht eine umfangreiche Sammlung an Böhme-Literatur, darunter zahlreiche handschriftliche Dokumente und frühere Drucke, zur Verfügung. Für den Besucher gilt allein der Blick in den Lesesaal als Höhepunkt!
// Jacob Böhme in der OLB

Grabstelle Nikolaifriedhof: Der Konflikt zwischen Böhme und Kirche ging über seinen Tod hinaus. Zuerst wurde das Begräbnis abgelehnt, dann folgte die Zerstörung des von Freunden Böhmes gestifteten Grabkreuzes. Ein würdiges Gedenken kam erst ab Beginn des 19. Jahrhunderts mit der Stiftung von drei Steinplatten durch die Oberlausitzische Bibliothek der Wisschenschaften und später amerikanischer Böhme-Anhänger zustande.
// Nikolaifriedhof

VINO E CULTURA: Das Restaurant in einem der schönsten und bedeutendsten Hallenhäusern der historischen Görlitzer Altstadt zeigt handschriftliche Dokumente Böhmes in einem seiner Räume.
// Sammlung Jacob Böhme

Denkmal Jacob Böhme: Wie sah er wirklich aus? „Seine äusserliche Gestalt war verfallen und von schlechtem Ansehen, kleiner Statur, niedriger Stirne, erhobener Schläffe, etwas gekrümmter Nasen, grau und fast Himmel glintzender Augen, kurtz Bartes...“, so die einzige verfügbare Beschreibung des frühen Biographen Böhmes. Das Denkmal im Park des Friedens ist eine der zahlreichen Interpretationen!

 

Auf den Spuren von Jacob Böhme in Görlitz 

// Flyer downloaden

// Flyer anschauen